Program Committee “Drivetrain for Vehicles“

The VDI is known for sophisticated technology and quality. Particularly these attributes in the further education of engineers provide the groundwork for our congresses, conferences and seminars. 
The program committees, comprising of industry and research representatives, help us realize these goals and choose topics and lectures that are as relevant as possible in industry practice. The ladies and gentlemen in the program committees are your “voice“

when it comes down to bringing an event in line with your needs. Likewise, the VDI drivetrain congress is professionally supported by a program committee counting 21 members. In addition to Germany’s top OEMs, the committee is made up of key industry and research representatives.
At this point we would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to all members for their long years of honorary commitment.


Dr.-Ing. Harald Naunheimer,

Senior Vice President Corporate R&D, ZF Friedrichshafen AG, Friedrichshafen

Program committee

Dipl.-Ing. Georg Bednarek

Global Program Manager and Global Chief Engineer Automatic Transmissions, Transmission Engineering Europe, Adam Opel AG, Rüsselsheim

Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Gerd Bofinger,

General Manager Transmission Development, Dr.-Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG, Weissach

Dr. Carsten Bünder,

Senior Manager Product Engineering, GETRAG, Untergruppenbach

Dipl.-Ing. Bernhard Hagemann,

Deputy Managing Director, Forschungsvereinigung Antriebstechnik e.V., Frankfurt/Main

Dipl.-Ing. Volker Heinz,

Director, Engineering, DualTronic® and Clutch Systems, BorgWarnerDrivetrain Engineering GmbH, Ketsch

Dipl.-Ing. Gerald Hilpert

VDI Society of Product andProcess Design, Verein Deutscher Ingenieure e.V., Düsseldorf

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernd-Robert Höhn,

Retired Professor at the Institute for Machine Elements/FZG, Technische Universität München, Garching

Dr. Uwe Keller,

 Director Transmission & Drivetrain, Mercedes-Benz Cars Development, Daimler AG, Stuttgart

Thomas Landsherr

 Vice President, Engineering Powertrain Driveline, MAN Truck & Bus AG, München

Peter Moelgg

President – Engineering GKN Automotive, GKN Driveline Bruneck AG, Bruneck, Italien

Dr.-Ing. Florian Mulzer,

AGCO Transmission Specialist, AGCO GmbH, Marktoberdorf

Dr. Markus Nussbaumer,

Head of Longitudinal Transmissions, BMW Group, München

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stephan Rinderknecht

Mechatronic Systems in Mechanical Engineering, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Darmstadt

Dipl.-Ing. Michael Schäfer,

Head of Transmission Development, Volkswagen AG,Wolfsburg

Dr. Andreas Schamel,

Director Global Powertrain Research & Advanced, Ford-Werke GmbH, Köln

Dipl.-Ing. Michael Schöffmann,

Head of Transmission Development, AUDI AG, Ingolstadt

Dipl.-Ing. Ulrich Schrickel,

 Senior Vice President Gasoline Systems, Transmission Control, Robert Bosch GmbH, Schwieberdingen

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karsten Stahl,

Full Professor and Director of the Institute for Machine Elements/FZG, Technische Universität München, Garching

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Tenberge,

Director, Head of Chair of Industrial, and Automotive Drivetrains, Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Matthias Zink,

Member of the Executive Board,
CEO Automotive, Schaeffler, Bühl

Honorary member

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karl Viktor Schaller,

Executive Vice President Development, BMW Motorrad, BMW Group, München

International Advisory Board

Dr. Li Jun,

Vice Chief Engineer of China FAW Group Corporation, President of R&D, Center of FAW, Changchun, China

Keith Michael,

Group Chief Engineer-Powertrain, TATA Motors Europe Technical Centre, Coventry, Great Britain